Sunday, November 29, 2015


Location: "On the southwesterly side of Pipe Island, Michigan, easterly side of channel, about 2 miles N. 1/4 W. of Frying -Pan Island Light-House, Detour Passage, St. Marys River."
Station Established: 1888
Year Current Tower(s) First Lit: 1888
Operational: ?; daymark
Automated: ?
Deactivated: Yes, still a daymark
Foundation Materials: ?
Construction Materials: Brick (?)
Tower Shape: Octagonal
Tower Height: 15 feet from base of tower to center of lantern
Markings/Pattern: White tower; black lantern room; 
Characteristic: Fixed Red
Relationship to Other Structure: Separate
Original Lens: 5th Order
Fog Horn: No

Historical Information:

  • Established in 1888.
  • Built by the Lake Carriers Association to aid shipping entering the St. Mary's River from Lake Huron.
  • Included a detached on-and-one half story white frame dwelling about 50 feet from the tower.
  • According to the 1901 Lights and Fog Signals of the United States: "Coast Light. Marks a range with Frying-Pan Island Light, for entering and leaving Detour Passage, and marks turning point into channel."
  • Tower height was increased with the addition of a steel skeleton placed on top of the original structure in 1937.
  • Now a daymark; island is privately owned.

Google Ad